Book 4, Chapter 2, Part 1 (I Am A Child Of This House)

The first half year after we came to the capital was the busiest time.

As soon as we broke chipger after four years, Castiello return after defeated the dragon.

As soon as we arrived at the capital, their mouth was sore that i heard how big the wave was in social circles. The empire was large, but the period of peace was long enough to be a handful of aristocrats, do a gambling and politics, i can say that it was a big things to happen between them now.

But the news that blows up at once, as we are came up to the capital.

Dad, Carl, and me.

There was no one between us who would not be rumored. In particular unlike the two people who have become cognizant of not being implicit in social circles, i had a passage between Lilia and Alexandra, so there were a lot of people who tried to cling to me.

It was good to see my friends after a long time except getting tired of what come after that.

‘Humans are social animals too.’

After a long time i had a time to meet face to face with Lilia and Alexandra, and can meet a new people itself was a very good things.

I wanted to meet Iris, but for some reason i can’t meet her because she was sick.

‘And for the Empress Mama.’

 She treated me as if i was her dead daughter that had come back to alive.

Invited me to the Empress salon, sitting next to the Empress while she holding my hands, listened to her story with her care and grasping over my hand, i could feel a creepy obsession beyond simple intimacy.

‘Although my dad is okay……but isn’t it too much?’

Because of that, it was easy for me to settle in social circles.

Of course i was a Castiello so no one dare talk to me.

As i entered the social world, my tone and my actions were refined like a normal aristocratic soul. During the chipger i didn’t even looked at to any other people, because i just care more for myself and my behavior.

I don’t want to be caught.

And another half year passed.

I am 18 year old now, i didn’t realize that.

Lilia said that she was not worried about marriage because finally her fiance was come.

I have been in social circles for about a year, so it was a time for me to open a salon. Just like it flowing “I will open it.” I said that and it has almost become a true story.

It was painful because everyone notice that i was keen to know when my salon would open and who would be invited.

“Are you getting married?”

I looked at Jean. Jean’s cheeks turned red.

“Yes, i want to get a permission.”

“Did Jean need my permission to get married?”

Since coming up to the capital, i have been talking to Ellen and Jean. Kelson too strongly insists that it’s customary, it was awkward to him like he was writing the speech.

“Because i’m going to marry Stephanie…….”

The end of his word is blurred.

“Ah. Right.”

Stephanie is my maid. She need my permission.

“Yes, of course. Not only i will allow it, but i really congratulate you.”

I said that as i smiled. I pushed the drawing design and got up from my desk.

“Be happy, Jean.”

As i smiled, Jean smiled faintly and bowed.

“Lady too, i hope you will be happy.”

“Of course.”

Jean nodded his head at the words i muttered. His eyes were looked at me the same way as when he first met me. When dealing with me as a child, there was no difference in attitude towards me as an adult.

“Yes. It must.”

“Thank you for telling me that.”

I smiled and lightly knocked the armrest with my fingertips. The manicure fingertips it didn’t sound bad when it was hit the armrest.

“So? What can i do for you?”

“No, it’s okay. Thank you just for giving us the permission.”

Jean replied firmly.

This.

‘I don’t know what in his mind.’

Jean can’t tell it to me, so i grumbled to Roy.

“But is there really nothing i can do? What do you think?”

“Well, Stephanie was Lord maid right? You can drop her off when she get married.”

“Oh, is that it?”

“Yes. You can’t do it to Jean. But you can do it to Stephanie as your maid.”

“Right.”

“Usually a noble lady with a tittle would come the wedding of who have been her maid—“

“Because she was close with Castiello. It have enough reason of that. Like that. Then i need give Stephanie something.”

“By the way, Jean will get married first. The gentle cat squeezed first.”

I laughed. It was his ‘elegant smile.’ that Roy said he is good these days.

“Roy, you want do it too?”

“You say it easily.”

“No? Ellen don’t want it?”

“Yes.”

“Uh? Really?”

I was surprised that my mask was broken. Looking back at him, i noticed Roy’s bright blue eyes sparkling with mischief.

“Roy Dylan.”

“I’m not kidding. Really. Ellen wants to further her career as a knight.”

“Do she should stop become a knight when she get married?”

“There is no such a thing as a married woman become a knight.”

“So it’s like that.”

It will be hard for Ellen.

“But we wouldn’t care about that. Like the Wolf knights.”

“Maybe, but that doesn’t mean you are completely free from people eyes.”

“There is no one like that.”

How can a person be completely free from the eyes of others?

Human is really a social animal.

“Is that so.”

Roy laughed again.

“You care about being an illegitimate child? Would you like the title?”

“Wow, lord you said that.”

“But Roy cares about that.”

“I don’t care anymore.”

“Really?”

“Yes. No, a little? But i don’t think about that much these days. I am already being a master anyway.”

“No, really. Roy has the right to act. Count Solard is still in development. The outcome is pretty good.”

“It’s fine.”

“Really? Then tell me if you need it.”

“It’s good.”

“What?”

“Tell me if you need it, i have a Lord who said it coolly.”

I laughed out of loud. Roy added.

“But it’s no use if Lord overworked to it.”

“Oh, that’s not true.”

“Please don’t work too hard.”

“Alright.”

“Don’t just answer it.”

To Roy blame i replaced the answer by a light laugh.

“Lord.”

“Hmm.”

When the answer didn’t come back i looked back at him. Roy erased hi usual smile and looked at me seriously.

“I have seen Lord since you were a kid.”

Roy waved his palms horizontally around his waist as if he were measuring my height.

“You did.”

“Since then, the Lord now had been different.”

“Did i?”

“Yes. Emel really pampered the Lord, it was like he was handling the world most delicate bubbles, i think it was significant in Lord case.”

“You are the only one who brings out Emel in front of me.”

Roy grinned.

“The Lord is generous.”

I stick out my lips and nodded in order to continue.

“But it looks you work pretty hard these days.”

“Is it that much?”

“Yes.”

If Roy said that, it means i was working too hard. He smile as usual.

“And no matter how hard you try, Lord is still an illegitimate child right?”

“Wow—the end.”

“You did it first.”

“Sometimes Roy casual words was stingy. Like before when we first met, you said that i was a child of prostitute.”

“No, i didn’t said that badly, no matter how much it is.”

You rate me too much, Roy murmured. Is that so?

“No?”

“It’s not.”

Roy insisted ‘I didn’t.’ and i nodded.

“Then i will just open the salon once and go on vacation.”

“Good.”

He nodded.

“Roy.”

“Yes.”

“Thanks.”

“It was nothing.”

“But Roy.”

“Yes.”

“You have a contact with Emel?”

“No.”

Roy answer was quick and concise.

“Okay.”

I answered with a sigh and started walking again. Since then i was never heard a news about Emel, and it’s making me more anxious.

But i hope no matter where he is, he wouldn’t have been hurt or get killed. No news is a good news.

But i’m worried.

‘But, i had decide not to think about it.’

Definitely should do that because we are split up. If i can listened to his story and told me a better goodbye, he wouldn’t have been stuck in my mind like this.

At least i was told him that i would hate him. It wasn’t a goodbye.

However.

It was made Emel a bad guy.

I didn’t do anything wrong, i hate Emel.

I’m was like an adult who is not that mature. I can’t go anywhere. I never thought i had this side in me.

I know it myself what’s not right, but i can’t change it.

‘Why are you doing this? What is the reason?’

I sighed deeply.

+++

Lilia looked at the cream on a cold milk tea and said.

“Is this okay? It’s pretty. Beside it will expensive.”

“Yes, and delicious.”

I replied that and marked ‘O’ on the drink list.

“How about the musical instrument? Will you take it?”

“I should. I’d better to have a piano. I don’t know if i can find a musician.”

Lilia smiled and said.

“Can you introduce us to good pianist these days? There’s something tricky about it.”

At Lilia words, Alexandra—Shasha said with a slight blush.

“How about McGillan? He like to play.”

“I don’t understand how can such a character played a beautiful performance.”

In the words of Lilia, I “Hmm.” I thought about it for a while and said.

“He may or may not come with that personality?”

“Oh? It’s an invitation from Estelle Castiello? Is he trying to refuse it?”

“Aren’t he is an artist?”

“However no matter how good he is, isn’t it useless if he don’t have a sponsor?”

Lilia cynically spoke, drank the milk tea and laughed.

“This is really delicious.”

“How is it, Shasha?”

“Yes, i like the iced tea. I’m curious about this drink recipe.”

“It’s a secret.”

I smile with my finger in my mouth, Shasha said  “I thought so.” and smiled.

Shasha cried before, saying she might be forced to marry because of her financial condition, and eventually she became the first of us who get married. Shasha was married with a small baron, looked more stable and happier than before.

Lilia is also twenty this year.

She also had a fiance. Her parents told her to get married quickly “Still, i want to enjoy the convenience of being engaged.” she said that and delaying her marriage.

Most of the conversations were women’s stories in social circles.

About someone who was dating, about the knight and his lady were immoral, and about someone who announced an engagement.

Or,

Have you seen her new dress? A deal from the droplet design room. Madame Linus dress is bold, i want to buy one her dresses too.

Did you see the new decor of the salon? About someone who playing cards in the salon and then lost 100.000 gold of the gambling debts.

Oh my goodness.

Those a lot of stories to tell.

It was unnatural for the soul that used to stay in the mansion like me. But doesn’t mean i hate it, when i was with Lilia and Shasha i felt like an ordinary lady.

After seeing off Lilia and Shasha i felt more better and headed to Anne in a plump light step.

Anne was a hot topic these days. The reason is of course because of the dragon.

As soon as people who heard about the dragon that existed in the legend was stayed in the Duke mansion has left, the first person who was get bite about the rumor of course the wizard.

Why didn’t you say that?!

The dragon ordered that.

What did the dragon say?

I don’t know.

There’s a wizard in your mansion!

But i don’t know much about my daughter wizard.

I want to talk to the wizard!

I refuse.

After this correspondence, the tower was silent. The medicine went up really firm, it felt like it would explode after a little touch.

Well, that doesn’t mean i’m generous or fearful about wizards.

When i thought about wizard again, it seemed didn’t get better.

Anne is my wizard.

There was quite a letter to Anne, but she seemed to ignore most of them.

“Anne?”

I slightly open the door and called her, “Come on in.” Anne replied. Her dark hair that had been grow was tied.

She always wear the robe i gave her, sometime she wear it with the belt i gave her a while ago. The buckle part was had a star shape looked gorgeous.

Anne who emphasizes the slimness still has a mysterious neutral charm that made her stand out even more.

“What’s up?”

“This time i will open the salon. At that time, can you magically hang my clothes?”

“What magic?”

“And to make jewelry is more shiny?”

“It’s possible.”

“Okay. This time i will wear clothes without wearing a corset. I want to make it popular by giving it an impact.”

“Ahh, the one you design?”

“Yes.”

Wearing a dress with a high waist line again! This was my goal now. It may fail, but i still have to try it.

‘I’m sick with the corset.’

Even the high waist line was a little modern interpretation here, but……

‘I met with a well designer.’

When i told her some ideas, Madame Louis quickly made a better sketch than me.

In the old Empire line, the clothes design was without seeing the breastbone. What i designed was of course a design that scoop up the chest. In addition the belt under the chest is gorgeous, the arms was a short sleeve with a lace gloves.

‘Because the gentleman may kiss the back of my hand.’

It was more comfortable to wear a gloves.

“And i decide to go on vacation when i finished opened the salon.”

“Oh? You really made a good decision.”

Anne said with a big smile.

“Lady was worked too hard.”

“Yes i hope it will end well.”

“Of course, it will end well.”

Anne said that and smile.

“Right.”

I nodded.

3 thoughts on “Book 4, Chapter 2, Part 1 (I Am A Child Of This House)

  1. I had similar experience like Estelle’s. Liking someone who were with you often, and the moment I told him I like him, he bid farewell. I didn’t want to look for him because I was trying my best to hate him, because chasing him, begging for obvious answer from him would make me look weak.
    It was and still is difficult to forget that person completely, so I’m trying with all my might to change all my lingering feelings into hatred because only that way, I can erase my best memories about that person.

    Well.. at least Estelle would have happy ending with Emel, that is great! 🙂 I too, I will be happy!!
    If I by any chance meet with ‘Emel’ in the future, I promise that I have forgotten all completely.

    Like

    1. aww 😦 it’s must really hurt. that’s it, i don’t know but i think we need to protect our pride as a women, don’t chase someone who doesn’t even think about us.. i know it sometime when we talk about feeling we should set aside our pride, but if he didn’t appreciate us it’s meaningless.
      it’s okay take your time, because me too, i need about more than two years to forget someone dear to me, i just keep the happy memories as memory no more, and i do not regret anything and i’m single happy now. so i hope you can through all that, move on (even i know it’s hard) and be happy, do what you like 🙂 i’m sure your day will come, and meet your emel 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started