Book 3, Chapter 3, Part 2 (I Am A Child Of This House)

I opened my eyes and i was in the bed.

I was surprised, but after i asked i found out that Ren brought me to bed.

‘I’m sorry.’

The tower using a ladder, so it would been hard for him to come down……i was fell asleep there. Fortunately the south is warm and the wind is cool, it’s a good weather to fall asleep on the outside.

I laughed.

‘Everybody was really alive. I met Emel yesterday. But i don’t know what happened.’

It was not a dream.

As soon as i finish washed lightly and changed my clothes, i visit Ren.

Knock Knock.

I knocked on the door and then the door opened immediately.

“Lady?”

“Good morning.”

“Yes, good morning.”

Ren said so as he avoided my gaze. What? What did i do last night?

“I heard you took me to bed yesterday. I’m sorry for the inconvenience.”

“No, no. No.”

Ren shook his head.

“Not at all.”

I laughed lightly at his intense injustice.

“If so, i’m glad.”

Then again, Ren gaze sneaked away from me and looked down.

‘What?’

Puzzled, i spoke with an apology.

“I wanted to inform that i will go back today.”

“Are you sure?”

“I can’t leave the mansion for a long time. According to the story i heard, i think they was really withdrawn.”

“Okay. Thanks to let me know that.”

“Yes, thank you.”

“No.”

After i finished talking ‘Mmmm.’ I rubbed my chin.

‘Did i made a mistake again?’

I was about to start the day, i asked Arthur a sneaky question.

“Arthur, did i made a mistake with sir Ren yesterday?”

“Are you sure?”

“Yes, he always avoid my eyes.”

“Ahhh—“

Arthur nodded as if he realized something.

You know! What happened!

“Did i say something wrong? Or have i troubled sir Ren?”

“No, it’s not like that.”

Arthur grinned.

“He can’t find you last night, so sir Ren went out to find you.”

“That’s right. So?”

“Then he found Lady who was crying and sleeping in the tower.”

“I see……”

Weeping on the day when everyone is pleased and finding a superior who had fallen asleep in the tower…….

“Isn’t it because it was too hot?”

As i said that and sighed, Arthur said with a strange face.

“Isn’t it like there’s a bud on his head?”

“Yes?”

Bud? On the head?

I didn’t get it, Arthur added.

“It’s spring.”

“I think it’s summer now?”

“That’s right. I look forward to the summer of the Duke of Castiello.”

“?”

Why did the conversation become a weather story?

Arthur grinned.

“You don’t have to worry to much about sir Ren. More than that are you leaving now?”

“Yes. The Marquis seems to have withdrawn completely.”

“Yes, i don’t see any sign that they would come back.”

“Are there any news from Alta Gate?”

“Not yet.”

“I see.”

That’s right, no news is a good news. I sighed and nodded.

“I want to go back to the mansion quickly.”

The road back to the mansion was a little more relaxed than when i came down to Lynfold. Even so i still want to hurry, should i say that i can’t afford it anymore?

But as i approached the Duke through Berge, the atmosphere was different.

“What with this mess?”

“That’s right.”

Arthur also feel something different.

“Did you hear anything from Alta Gate?”

I was nervous about his words. They will definitely win. They will. No, they should win.

“Would we hurry up?”

As i said that, i kicked my side. I’m sorry for overusing it until the end, because my heart is in hurry.

As i entered the entrance of the mansion, the atmosphere was already bad.

I can’t see the soldier that usually stand at the entrance.

‘What happened?’

I usually slow down the reins when i came in, but this time i added more and more speed.

I could see people gathered at the entrance. Messenger? Did the messenger come?

“What’s wrong?”

As soon as i ran to the front door, i jumped out of the horse and asked, and the people who standing in front of me looked back at me.

“Lady!”

“There’s no soldier at the entrance, what’s wrong?”

“Estelle.”

The voice that i heard from inside of the front door creep throughout my body. I squeaked and looked back at him.

“How have you been?”

No words came out.

Uh, so. I’m already adult now, no crying or running, with naturally and calm as if i’m already knew that Dad will comeback.

“I, i’m home.”

My voice was trembled. I blinked quickly. Otherwise it seemed that i want to cry right now.

I want to hang on my dad and crying.

“It’s safe, it’s safe—“

I’m glad you came back. But i can’t said it well. It’s feels like inside my neck is tight.

“Estelle?”

Dad called me again. I bowed my knees slightly.

“Welcome.”

Spoke a clear words were hard.

“Estelle.”

Looking up as i heard Dad called my name again, he said as he open his arms.

“Come on.”

At that moment, what i was trying to endure was collapse at once. I spurted out of the ground and embraced my dad.

“I, i see, want—“

“Yes.”

Dad hugged me in a satisfactory voice. He listened to me quietly like i was a child, burying my face on Dad’s shoulders, and started crying.

It doesn’t matter anymore if i looked like a child.

“What? I thought she was still a child, but no?”

Suddenly i heard someone speaking, it was the first time i heard that voice. There was a man that i saw for the first time. He has a black hair, and his eyes are golden.

He smiled at me and i saw a sharp fang.

“I thought i will completely snuffed, are you sure you are female?”

Female?

This is the first time i heard this rant and dazed, my dad said sharply.

“Close your mouth.”

“It was a compliment.”

He grinned. I asked my dad as i get more clinging.

“Who is he?”

“Dragon.”

Dad’s answer was concise. I looked back at the guy and he smiled again.

Dragon.

Hmm.

That’s not an important issue right now.

“Dad, brother—“

“I know.”

“That, should we just announce a news? I’m worried about brother….”

Dad carrying me in one arm, took out a handkerchief and handed it to me.

“You should tell him that you had come back.”

I wiped my tears and asked.

“Are you sure you don’t go to help?”

“He won’t need my help.”

“Wait, is this person was ignored me now as a dragon?”

The man shouted loudly. I ignored him and asked.

“Do you have any injuries? Are you okay? What happened? What about the other Wolf? Emel, Jean, and Ellen—“

“Everyone is safe.”

“Thanks God…..”

I was comforted and relaxed. Dad looked at me and asked.

“Are come back from Lynfold?”

I nodded.

“That—“

From where should i talk?

“Did you heard it from Emel?”

Dad eyes narrowed at my question.

“What story?”

“Ah, that i met him at Lynfold.”

“Ahh. Yes i heard that.”

Dad nodded. I sighed and said.

“It’s a long story.”

“There is still a lot of time.”

At Dad’s replied, i smiled and kissed his face lightly.

“Then i will change clothes first. Yeah?”

Dad nodded, kissed my forehead and put me down. I saw the man that called himself as a dragon and headed straight to my room.

‘Dragon.’

I don’t think he is really a dragon.

He called dragon. Wouldn’t it be? It’s a strange name, but there are a lot of parents like that in the world.

‘Really……?’

Oh, no way.

Stepping into my room, Stephanie and Jane screamed, ran, and hugged me.

I also got some tears but it’s disappeared as the two of them hugged me. They told me many things, from about how they really worried about me and praise for my victory, and repeated the story about how my father coming back. After a while, the two of them calmed down and i lifted my head. At that time. Annie came and stood like a picture.

“Welcome, Lady.”

Annie smiled faintly. I smiled at her.

“I’m home.”


Jane tightened my corset and i opened my eyes.

“Are you really stand at the forefront?”

“Yes, thanks for the clothes you made, i used it well.”

Literally ‘I am the boss.’ I was glad i was shouting like that.

“Did you watch it all that dangerous thing?”

Stephanie frowned as she picked my jewelry. I smiled and shook my head.

“Still i should watch it, right? That’s my order.”

“That’s it, but it is.”

Stephanie has a dissatisfied face though. Well, i won’t tell them that i was threatened to fired the Magistrate.

It was frustrating to wear a corset after a long time. It’s so tightened, i wear a light pink clothes—without decoration—my head was lightly tied.

“Then how about Anne….?”

“She didn’t come out from her room.”

“Really?”

“Yes.”

Jane nodded and i sighed.

“Okay.”

I answered and decide to stop by Anne rooms before going to Dad.


Knock knock.

“Anne? Are you inside? I’m come back.”

I talked to her from the outside but i couldn’t hear anything inside.

She is still angry.

“Look, i’m really safe, nothing happened. I was relieved that Anne was in the mansion—“

I knocked at the door.

“I want to talk to you face to face—huh? Anne, open the door.”

But the other side of the door is still quiet.

“I will bring you a snack later, let’s talk again then.”

I said so and stepping out from there.

‘I thought Anne would forgive me as soon i come back.’

I think that not that easy.

‘What if i remain not reconciled with Anne like this?’

I never want to imagined it. Back to the original and pretend that we don’t have a good memories, maybe i will feel comfortable later on.

‘No. I can never do that.’

I will be reconciling with Anne somehow.

I determined as i clench my fits, i headed to Dad’s room. Now the atmosphere in the mansion was full of excitement, so the attendant who opened the door was smiled a bit differently than usual.

When i went in, my father already changed his clothes. And a man named dragon was sat on the couch and smiled at me.

“We meet again? Oh, come to think of it.”

The dragon pulled something out of his arm.

“Is you the owner?”

“End?!”

I was surprised and reached out. Caught him in the neck, End quickly changed and inflated.

He become a giant, fierce lion figure as End revealed himself.

“This dragon bastard, dare—“

I swallowed my breath.

Like when Alpha caused waves, the shock of the exhaustion swept through my body.

“End, stop it.”

Alpha pushed him lightly, and End turned his eyes to him.

“But this bastard, in two dimension—“

“I know. But what are you doing without the contractor’s permission?”

In the end, End glanced at me and squeaked back into a small dragon and sat on my shoulder and said.

“Tell me if you want to have a fight with this dragon.”

At that time Dad stood between me and the dragon, so i grabbed Dad arms and stared at him.

“Are you really a dragon?”

“Right. By the way, you can sign with two kings of spirits. When the blood of demons flowing in you? It’s interesting.”

‘King of spirits?’

When i opened my eyes, the dragon grinned. I looked up and asked Dad.

“What happen is this? If it’s a real dragon, don’t you fight with him?”

“We fought.”

I was surprised at the words of the dragon.

“I stopped because of the scars on my scales.”

As he smirked and said that, Dad sighed.

“And he suddenly took all of us to another space and lost contact.”

“I woke up and the scenery changed, no one can contacted. So i wanted to talk to him calmly.”

“Don’t you read what in our head, and show us the strange illusion?”

At all Dad cold words, the dragon shrugged.

“Humans are good at lying.”

So the one who in front of me is really a dragon? The one who flying in the sky and blowing fire?

“Why did you follow and come here?”

The question is sharp without me knowing. I was nervous when i thought he might harm people in the mansion.

“Just spending a time before i leave to the west. Beside, i was the one who took all of them right in front of the house. And—“

He said with a kinky smile.

“Is there a wizard here?”

I feel a creep on my back and goose bumps, i stepped forward and said strongly.

“I wont let you go easily, if you do something to Anne!”

“What if i can’t stay still?”

His golden eyes narrowed. I smiled showing a pride as Castiello that already on my body. A distinctive, aggressive smile.

“If you are curious, then don’t stay still.”

I also responded by narrowing my eyes.

“This little girl—“

“This lizard has eating nothing but age—“

Then my dad lightly messing my hair and said.

“It won’t happened. He made a pledged to do that.”

Then the dragon woke up.

“Ugh, it’s frivolous when you say it.”

“Pledge?”

“That right. I will not hurt those involved.”

“You did……”

Well, Dad wouldn’t bring the dragon to the mansion without any sanctions.

‘Pledge.’

I’ve heard it somewhere.

‘Ah—!’

We made a pledge to Imperial family. And we can’t resist from it. Is it the same? Is it a kind of magic?

‘If so……..’

I looked at the dragon in front of me.

‘If it’s a dragon, would he know it? Because all the magic came from him.’

“What? Are you in love with me at the first glance? Of course i’m handsome when i’m in human form. Hahahahahaha.”

He turned around and laughed loudly.

Somehow i thought after wake up……dragon will be more wise and become more heavy, but it’s not…….

“How long will you stay here?”

“About a week. I will fly away when the flow of magic changes.”

“Where, to the western country?”

The dragon stared at me and said faintly.

“I won’t tell you.”

It wasn’t a teasing, i think it was something important so he couldn’t say it. I was convinced why and nodded, after that Dad was called me.

“Estelle.”

“Yes.”

“You here to talking to me right, so shall we walk?”

“Is it?”

Then Dad walked towards me and lifted me up lightly with one arm.

“Dad?!”

My voice was so loud in amazement. I thought i’d fall and grabbed Dad’s shoulder.

“We walking.”

No, what i mean was i wanted to walking on my leg. Beside, i’m too old for being hold like this. The ceremony also already passed, i was even acted as the Duke, and i went to the front of the battlefield. But somehow i didn’t hate it, so i just stay quiet in my dad arms. It’s only to my dad, that i can act like a child. Because i’m his child.

When we came out of the terrace into the midsummer garden, the sunlight was bright and it pierced my face. I blinked my eyes a few times to clear my vision.

In the garden, summer roses were in a full bloom. The pale pink rose was vivid with the dark greenery.

“Tell me.”

“Yes?”

At Dad’s words, i smiled and glanced at Dad, he glanced back to me.

“Was there something you wanted to say? You didn’t talk properly before.”

Oh, it is. Because the dragon i’m forget about it. Even the dragon is in a human figure, but still it didn’t feel well.

“I was very worried about Dad.”

“Okay.”

“I’m also very worried about  brother Carl, i hope both of you were okay, i’m feel stupid because what i can do is worried—“

Somehow only complaints that came out. I didn’t mean to to talked like this, to my dad who just arrived. And even my tone is becoming like a child.

But i couldn’t stop.

Standing still under the shade of roses garden, Dad listened to my story. The scent of the roses seemed to be pouring.

“So, as Castiello i tried to work really hard, but everything doesn’t look better.”

My dad put me down to the ground. I covered my face with both hands and quickly said.

“Really, both of you are the same. Doing it all alone, when there’s a matters, you don’t let me listen to the stories. Was my concern was useless? I’m just to stupid to worry about that.”

“Estelle.”

My dad gently grabbed my wrist and pulled it down. Dad laughed faintly as he knelt down and looked up at me.

“I don’t think it’s useless.”

I keep my lips shut without answering “Really.” whispered low.

“Thank you and i’m sorry.”

Dad hands gently covered my cheeks were rough with calluses, but it felt good.

“I want you to know even i didn’t express it, but i don’t think it’s stupid.”

Dad murmured and stared at me. His red eyes shone more than roses.

“About what Estelle worried, would it sound like a lie if i say that it’s lovely when you felt sorry for all the things?”

“No.”

I couldn’t shook my head because Dad caught my cheeks. I answered that by mouth, and i know that Dad never lie to me.

Dad continued to talk slowly.

“It’s not about a funny things. I’m was not ignoring you. It just me and Carl, know what we want too much.”

“That’s why i feel alone.”

“Estelle is gentle child.”

Dad woke up with a grin.

“Estelle fills in the part what i can’t give to Carl and what Carl can’t give to me.”

“Is that so?”

“That’s right.”

I nodded and my father was silent for a while.

“I want you to stay with me even if it’s hard, and even it may be difficult for you. I want to said and asked that to you.”

“To worried alone, or sad alone?”

I looked at my father who shook his head with a difficult face, a laughed came out. And i hugged my dad.

“I can’t quit just because i want to quit.”

I will not worry now! I didn’t have to worry about that.

Dad sweep my back and said.

“I may a lacking father, but thank you so much for growing up.”

“Not at all, you don’t lack anything!”

I was surprised and looked to him. Dad grinned at me.

“Thank you for telling me that.”

“No, It’s nothing really.”

I cheered him up. Lacking as father? Why do you say something like that without confidence even as a Duke of Castiello?

‘Ah—‘

Somehow the laughter came out and i buried my face in him again. So it’s like that.

He always confident and unstoppable on other place, but you didn’t think that way if it’s about me and my problem.

“Dad.”

“Huh?”

“I love you.”

“Me too.”

It was not a loose words, but the answer came back immediately. Inhale deeply i lifted my head again.

“So you really won’t to going to see brother?”

“Right.”

Dad added an explanation.

“Rather, i know what will i heard from him if i go.”

“Is that so?”

“Yes.”

Well, maybe it’s “Why did you come here?” Carl figure come out in my mind so vividly as he saying that words.

“How did you bring the dragon here?”

When i asked, Dad rarely sighed.

“By somehow.”

Plus really really rarely answer.

“What happened?”

“That’s. If he didn’t do anything harm, it’s okay if he want to stay here for awhile.”

“Is the Imperial family know?”

“I don’t know. But if they know it will such a headache, and hamstring.”

Well the Duke brought back the dragon. If you hear the phrase it sounds like Dad was tamed a dragon, right?

If they think that the Duke had the power to tamed the dragon, it would be incredible news. So it would be wise not to inform that.

“Kelson says, you did a job very well.”

“Really?”

As i opened his eyes wide and asked, Dad nodded

“Yes. And—“

“And?”

“I was a little scared.”

“Huh? What? Why?”

“Because the way you handle everything, is the same way and the same speed like me?”

“What is that.”

Only then a laughter flowed out. What is he saying.

It felt like i had received a great praise, and laughter flowed out like blood.

“I think the time when i’m not seen you, you had grew up too much.”

“When you not see me in that two months?”

“Right.”

He missed some time, and my dad lightly handed my hair over my shoulder.

“And?”

“Yes?”

“What else?”

“Well, i fought with Anne.”

“With Anne?”

“Yes. I was refused her to followed me when i went to Lynfold.”

I kicked my tongue lightly.

“I thought she will be freed when i came back, but she still angry. I don’t know how to reconcile with her.”

“Give some gifts……?”

In Dad’s advice i laughed. Right. Dad has never reconciled with anyone.

You never know how to reconciled too.

‘It’s not a helpful advice…..bring the gift to reconciliation is the basic.’

“Shall i tried it?”

I looked at the rose.

‘Should i gave a bouquet as a present?’

+++

2 thoughts on “Book 3, Chapter 3, Part 2 (I Am A Child Of This House)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started