Book 3, Chapter 2, Part 4 (I Am A Child Of This House)

Inside the office was noisy. As soon as i entered Kelson waved.

“Lady.”

“Kelson. I heard about it from Roy. So, are we going?”

“Ah? Alas. Sir Roy told you. Yeah. It’s already decide. Before the messenger reach the Marquis, we will arrived at the Alta Gate first.”

Kelson said confidently. I nodded.

“What about Jamon Marquis? Is there any other moves?”

Kelson shook his head slightly.

“I haven’t heard about it yet.”

“Okay. What about other Marquis?”

“They are still quiet too. In the border too—“

The office door opened wide. Everybody turned around in surprised, he shook his head and said.

“That, Master Xeon is here.”

“Xeon?”

“Yes.”

Xeon? Now?

What’s going on?

I left the documents i was holding on my desk and quickly left the office.

“Ah, where is he now?”

“He is in the parlor.”

“Okay.”

As i ran down the stairs, and entered the parlor he was standing with Carl.

“Xeon? What are you doing?”

I asked, Carl looked to me and waving.

“I just asked about it.”

Xeon said in a nasty voice.

“Because we are friend.”

Carl shook his head. Looking at that, Xeon “Ah, really!” he said that as he raised his voice and sighed.

“I came to help you. I’m going to join with you to the war.”

“……….What?”

Carl opened his eyes wide. Xeon glance at him and grumbled.

“What’s friend are for? Come help when it’s hard. Well, i can’t use the power of Count Encaste—because my father is stubborn. But i can add my arm to help you.”

Xeon grinned.

“So as soon as i heard the rumors about the knights of Marquis were gathering on the border, i ran here. I didn’t expect to hear a thank you from you, but asking why i’m here is too much.”

Carl slowly folded his arms and said.

“So, are you coming here to help me?”

“That’s right.”

Xeon said that as he scratched his red hair.

“Now i realize that you are not as useless as before. Well done.”

Then Carl laughed lightly. Xeon opened his eyes.

“Hey? You?”

Yes, smile. Carl laughed so much.

“Good.”

Carl nodded.

“Xeon Encaste.”

“Why?”

“Thank you.”

Xeon eyes widened. He opened his mouth.

“Uh? Huh?”

“If a friendship is like this, it’s not bad.”

As Carl nodded his head, Xeon looked at him and sighed with a laughed.

“Ah, really. It’s really hard to get a friendship like this.”

“But you never tell me that it was worth it.”

“With my mouth?”

“What’s the point if you can’t speak about it yourself.”

“Well. Is it? Anyway kid—“

Xeon eyes turned back to me.

“Uh?”

He made a small dubious sound. Carl stretch his arm blocking between me and Xeon and said.

“Don’t be dazzled at my sister like that.”

“I’m not!”

Xeon shouted and turned his head back. Somehow i can saw his face was red.

I laughed and said.

“I was running worried if something bad happened, but i don’t think that the case.”

Xeon glanced side way and asked.

“Kid…..um?”

“Yes.”

I answered with a smile, Xeon looked at me again as he observed me.

“I thing suddenly something has changed.”

Its a bit embarrassing but i was satisfied with that.

“Isn’t it because the way i wore a dress is different?”

“Not that…….”

Xeon scratched his head and move it a few times side to side . Carl spoke to him.

“Will you really follow me?”

“For what i should run to come here like this?”

“Okay. Than let’s go.”

“Now?”

“The preparation for the campaign are almost over. I should introduce you. What about armor?”

“I bought it.”

Carl nodded. He took off the necklace with the signet ring and offered it to me.

“Estelle.”

“For me?”

Carl laughed looked at my surprise reaction.

“Who should i give it to then?”

“You can continue to keep it…….”

“I’m going to war, and you are the one who remain in the mansion.”

At Carl words, i swallowed a gulp and opened my hands. He smile as he threw the ring to my hand. I squeezed the signet ring as soon as it fell in my hand.

“Cheer up. You should acting like a Duke of Castiello.”

“Yes?”

Carl smiled and dragged Xeon away. As Xeon glanced at me, he waved his hand.

I waved back to him and smiled.

When i left alone in the parlor and opened my hands. A heavy steel signet ring was in my hand.

“Well—“

I took a long breath and put the ring around my neck. My neck felt heavy now.

“Good. I can do it.”

I patted my cheeks and quickly headed back to my office. Kelson asked what happened, i answered that Xeon came to join with Carl.

“And i think finally brother really admitted Xeon as his friend now.”

Kelson admired—and nodded.

“It’s good. There are a lot of good people around him.”

“Yes, that’s right. I never thought Xeon would come like this. And, i got this.”

I help up the signet ring, Kelson smiled and blinked his eyes.

“That’s it.”

“I think i will have a sore throat.”

“Right, It’s very heavy.”

“Yes.”

I nodded and turned back to the paperwork. It’s already planned, but still it’s a different from the actual plan.

‘Fortunately it’s going almost without a problem. I will be going to the war soon.’

Inside my heart become so tight.

—If something happen to Carl.

I quickly got away the thought i had before it come to an end. I don’t want to imagine it.

‘Alpha.’

—No.

‘I haven’t said anything yet…….’

—It’s so obvious even you don’t said that. I will stay by your side.

I sighed and turned around to Alpha. Alpha now following me like a shadow, the people on the mansion was also already used to him. Alpha dark blue eyes lying flat on the floor were firmly shouting ‘No.’

‘Then i can’t help it…….’

I tried not to be nervous.

Ordinarily there may be an initiation ceremony, but as soon as the preparation ready, he depart quickly and leave all the formalities.

Roy was join too.

I suggested that to Roy and said i had a spirit that will protect me and push him to leave, it good to have as many troops as possible. Of course the administrations who don’t know that i am a spirit user was anxious.

It was natural to Roy as the general manager to join. When he found out that i was a spirit user ‘Ahh.’ He said  as he nodded.

“Somehow, it seemed like there was a corner in my mind to believe something like that.”

Roy said that.

“I will go.”

“Are you sure?”

Carl asked as he faintly smile with a low voice. I quickly answered.

“Brother?”

“Yes, sure.”

“Good.”

I nodded and receded. Xeon smiled and said.

“Don’t worry because i will drag him out.”

“Be careful in your journey.”

“Okay.”

Xeon nodded. As Carl sent a signal, the horses began to run. In a moment the knights were following him. The soldiers have already sent to the Alta Gate before, so they just have to wait the other knights to arrive.

I stood on the porch until the party was completely invisible and then stepped back in.

“Princess.”

“Princess.”

The servant bowed deeply. I stretched my back and made a smile on face.

From now on, i am the owner of the mansion.

The office was quiet. It felt like a a calm before a storm. There’s nothing more to do, so i ordered all the administrators to take a rest. If there any other movements from Jamon Marquis, we will become so busy so it’s a good idea to save your stamina for now.

Even i forced Kelson to out from the office, i stood by the windows breathing out for a long time

‘Oh, dear.’

It’s raining outside. On this day. I don’t want to hit by the thunder.

Knock knock.

“Come in.”

Turned around to the source of knocking, the servant opened the door.

“What’s happened?”

“Lord Hardel Kreuz has come.”

“Teacher?”

I opened my eyes and quickly left the office as i went to the parlor, Hardel was squeezing the water off his shoulder.

“The rain is pouring so hard.”

“Teacher, what are you doing?”

“So do you want to have a class tomorrow?”

As he answered my question with a question, he began to wipe off his wet glasses. I  was staring at him and started to laughed.

“What’s fun?”

Hardel asked, and wearing his glasses again. i barely swallowed a laughed and then shook my head.

“It’s nothing. Teacher. I’m sorry but i don’t think i can do a class now. I’m busy because the work is overlapping.”

“I see.”

“Sorry, because you already come here on purpose. I never thought you would come. I should contacted you in advance.”

After Hardel wearing his glasses he looked at me blinked his eyes and laughed.

“It’s good that i come.”

“Yes?”

“Because if i didn’t i almost missed the pleasure of seeing my disciple growing up.”

“I’ve heard a lot about it, that lately i have change.”

I looked down at my clothes.

“I think it’s because my dress.”

“No, your expression itself is completely different. I almost mistaken for someone else.”

“Yes?”

I made a surprise face at his words, he “Oh, it’s looks the same now.” He added.

“It’s a step to growing up.”

Harled said to me again.

“First of all, congratulations on acting as a Duke.”

I was surprised at that.

“How did you know?”

Isn’t it just half a day since it was decided?

Hardel pointed to his chest.

“Ah.”

I finally realized i was wearing a signet ring around my neck.

“Right.”

I sighed foolishly and nodded.

“I don’t know if it’s something to celebrate.”

“Isn’t it?”

“This kind of situation.”

“Because you are just acting as a substitute for this situation.”

“………”

I opened my mouth.

Hardel looked straight at me and said.

“Even you are just acting in this situation, but no body here is disputed.”

He laughed.

“Can i congratulate you?”

I can’t say anything at that.

After exhaled, i smiled at Hardel.

“That’s right. Suddenly my shoulder become so heavy.”

“Do you?”

“Yes?”

“If so, that’s good.”

“Yes?”

Hardel said softly.

“Because it’s about what is like to become a higher commanders are.”

I gave a trembling smile.

Really. There is no way for me to beat teacher words.

As he sweeping the wet hair away, Hardel said.

“Then i will go to my room now. After all, ridding on a horse in this weather is no correct.”

“Did you riding a horse?”

“Then should i walked?”

Hardel said, i shook my head.

“Oh, is not it. I’m sorry but i will prepare the wagon so you better go home.”

“Princess.”

“Yes.”

“Do i look like a fool?”

“Yes?! No?! Absolutely not?!”

 Shook mt head at an unimaginable question.

“When i decide to ride the horse, do you think i did that because i didn’t know it was dangerous?”

“Uh……..”

As my words was blocked, Hardel looked at me and said lightly.

“Then i will go to my room.”

Hardel left the parlor, i fell down on the couch.

‘Ah, what.’

I looked at the ceiling and suddenly a laugh came out and i began to laugh harder.

‘Like that. You came because you worried.’

I put my hands on my chest.

The weight and the tension of the ring was felt. I thought it was heavy, but what Hardel said is right.

People who stand on the top also had a big responsibilities, of course their shoulder are become more heavy.

Besides.

‘They trust me.’

I’m seventeen now.

Even thought i’m a Lady and i never had in a war before, but no one had objected to my act as a Duke.

Nobody thinks that as a strange things.

‘They give me their support.’

Is there anything more valuable in this situation more than that?

‘Good.’

I squeezed the signet ring. Strangely it didn’t feel as heavy as before.

‘Ah, is it.’

Being considerate.

‘Like when Anne said it wasn’t that hot, when i said it hot. It just like that…….’

It means i am being loved.

Just as i try to help Carl, so the others may do the same.

‘I was so ashamed.’

Thinking alone, embarrassing alone. I breathed out again and calmed my mind.

“Okay. Cheer up.”

I speaking loud as i was telling that to myself, and opened the door of the parlor.

+++

Day by day was passed slowly and fast. The Wolf Knights as the core of the Duke are out there—is it the fact that we are hit by the decree? They had such a heart to do it to us.

‘In addition, the locals are also anxious……’

At the Alta Gate the war with the Raymond Marquis was not so easy.

‘It will strange if it’s something like that so easy to handle…..’

Every time the news came, i opened the paper with a cold feeling in my blood. When the news of the deceased or the injury come, i felt like my sense disappeared from my fingertips.

‘Fortunately the border seemed to be blocking well……’

If the war gets longer, the territories will get the damaged too…..

For all the administrators who in charge of each estate, i have to told them to raise the bar on security issue.

‘And.’

In a war like this, there is a bunch of people who take this chance as advantage to take care of their belongings.

‘I will get rid of them later.’

“What’s so fun?”

“Uh?”

As i looked up, one of the trails now approached me carefully.

“No, just—because you are smiling.”

“Was i smiling?”

“Yes? Yes.”

He nodded.

“So i think there’s a good news come……”

“No, i was thinking to give a death penalty to these people who take this war as they chance for their selfish profit……”

“…….That, that, so you did.”

His face become pale and he words was stuttered, he quickly dropped his document and returned to his seat.

‘I think he was scared of my words.’

I didn’t mean that. I sighed and lightly rubbed my hands. The rain continue to pour out of the window. And sometimes the flashes of the thunder and lightning was getting on my nerves.

‘But i can’t put these pilled up work just because the thunderstorm.’

It’s hard to hold my fear and my shoulder started to shrugs.

‘I don’t think it’s time to be scared of this anymore…….’

But i’m glad today is just the rain.

—Should i stopped the rain?

Alpha asked, but i shook my head. Anyway it’s a nature providence, i can’t stop it just because i hate it.

I don’t know what effect will happen if i do that.

I sighed.

Kelson approached my desk and asked me as i leaned back to my chair.

“Lady, aren’t you work too hard these days?”

“It’s okay. I’m just lack of sleep.”

“I see. Actually i can’t let you rest now. Because Arthur is arriving.”

Arthur is the head of ‘Shadow.’ He secretly spying on many place, if he came here directly…….

“I will listen to the story.”

I got up and headed to the room inside the office.

“Hello, princess.”

Arthur greeted me nicely.

“How are you?”

Arthur grinned as he confronted me.

“I did manage to find about it.”

He immediately gave me a thin sheet of paper.

“There is a movement.”

Alas, a sigh flowed out of my mouth.

“Also, it is.”

I looked at the paper and frowned.

“They was gathered little by little secretly. Three of them tried to face one, they try to make four pairs of scattering……”

 I should say that it was an unpleasant way, they are really like an old fox.

“They made it that way so we don’t notice their movement.”

“But how you can you noticed it?”

“Because shadow are everywhere.”

Arthur said that as he smiled.

‘Reliable.’

Arthur as the head of the shadow, was dressed differently than usual. He wear such an ordinary outfit, so when he mixed with other people they would never notice it.

“The rally point is on the Lynfold side. Are they thinking about to crossing the river?”

As Kelson looked at Arthur, he nodded.

“Maybe. Because there is a street right across the river.”

“But isn’t the river is quite wide? Is not easy to crossing the river. Although there is a bridge……”

The bridge is not big and not suitable for many military to crossing it. It will take you all day to get all the soldiers to across that bridge.

“They should build another bridge or build a boat.”

“They already moving now, depending on their location, they may across the river.”

I was surprised and looked up.

“Are you sure?”

“Yes.”

“Oh my gosh.”

I sighed a few times.

“They coming in the rainy day like this.”

I just get lack of sleep because the thunderstorms, but down there is a dry season, so the river is dry too.

Arthur replied with a smile.

“Because the land of Castiello is wide. The south side hasn’t been raining these days.”

“Fortunately, the south has a less farmland.”

Kelson added, and i nodded. The southern part of Castiello is famous for the glass crafts. It was a city where a craftsmen lived to produce transparent and uniform glass.

“Those are the place when the good iron and glass are made.”

“Really?”

“Yes.”

Kelson nodded. Is it? There’s something environmental about it, so that’s where the city can built.

So let’s go back to the original story—

“Then it same in Doha, there is no river there.”

“That’s right.”

Arthur answered, i ‘Hmm….’ and narrowed my eyes.

“Then i should go there before they crossing the river.”

Kelson turned his eyes from the paper to me. I took a deep breath and said.

“I will go.”

Of course ‘Oh no.’ , ‘What are you talking about?’ , ‘You want the mansion to be empty?’ the same story will come out.

I sighed and said.

“So if i go there, i can wipe out the enemy.”

Alpha glance at me and i looked at him.

“Is not it?”

As i asked, Alpha nodded.

—It’s possible.

Kelson looks at Alpha “I see…..” he opened his eyes wide.

“Sweep them into the river……but is it possible to do that even now there no water in the river?”

“Is it possible.”

Alpha replied and opened his mouth. Kelson jumped, Alpha smiled and turned around my leg. I reached out and touched behind his ear.

“If the the contractor wants, i will make a flood.”

Arthur shoulder shrugged.

“The war is getting longer at the Alta Gate. It’s not bad to show our power clearly. Because it’s hard to get through this war even if it’s too flimsy.”

“That’s right.”

Kelson answered and stare at me. I smiled at him and looked back to him. Kelson sighed.

“The Duke might kill me when he come back.”

“I will be sure to dry him then.”

“Please do that, please.”

Kelson repeatedly begged.

I had no opponent to dried me up now, right? I laughed and remembered something.

‘There is nobody to oppose me.’

What would Emel say if he is here?

‘Are you insane?’ and he must say that as he frowned his eyes. Dad and brother are the same—they would staring at me and give me some pressure.

Haha.

Ah……

‘I think i miss them.’

Slap—!

I hit both my cheeks with my palm. Not now, not now. No negative thinking! No longing!

“Princess?”

“Lady?”

Arthur and Kelson were both surprise and looked at me at the same time. I shook my hand.

“No, I’m okay. I’m just nervous, so i’m trying to get myself together.”

Kelson narrowed his eyes.

“You must never stand in the front when in the war. Do you understand? Never!”

—Kelson gave me some ultimatum.

‘I’m sorry, Kelson.’

I looked at the flag fluttering across the river.

Because i have to stand in the front now.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started