Book 2, Chapter 2, Part 1 (I Am A Child Of This House)

I was woke up because i felt so cold.

Did i kick the blanket? I touch the surroundings, and feel so chilled, after that my mind was flashing.

‘Uh…….?’

The floor is cold and hard.

What? Is it a dream?

Did i have a dream when i was live with my mother?

But this is too realistic. I touched the floor again. I felt a cold and rough stone floor texture. I touched my clothed and i still in my pajamas.

“Annie? Jane?”

I made a small voice. It was so dark everywhere and i couldn’t see anything.

I woke up in a staggering state. My bare feet feels sore.

“Everyone? Why is it so dark?”

Then a squeaking sounds came out and than a small rectangular window opened. The window just like a window you saw at the prison………

Suddenly, i feels a chills all over my body.

What? What happened?

As i remember i was asleep in the bed before.

I was surprised because the door suddenly opened.

A man wearing a hood came in with a lantern. After that he took off the hood and laughed.

“Hello. Young lady the duke of Castiello.”

At the moment my lungs start to shivered. It was difficult to breathe. Isn’t this a dream?

Isn’t it a nightmare?

“Wizard………”

As i gasping and squeaking he nodded.

“I am honored because you remember me. My name is Palace Mage Lefton.”

“Uh, How can you—“

“I use a bit of magic, to kidnapped you. It’s easy because the White Hall is a land without elemental stone protection.”

“Please send me back, now. If you send me back, i won’t say anything.”

I shouldn’t had said that, i thought in my heart, but couldn’t help to said so.

“I even should bring you this way to made you disappear from the Castiello. Because you already disappear from Castiello, so you should stay till the end.”

“What, what are you going to do? I have no power.”

“It’s my job to derive that power.”

I looked around. It’s a square room with a stone wall.

When my dad will find me?

“Come here.”

Lefton reached out and grabbed me. It seemed like his fingers penetrating into my skin. I bite his finger.

He dragged me out and there was a lab. But i couldn’t see the door everywhere.

“Don’t worry , Lady.”

Lefton said that and put something on the table. There something in the thick tube glass……

I swallowed a scream. There was an eyeball in it.

With a pink pupils.

“I won’t kill you.”

Lefton smiled as he said that and added.

“For a long time.”

It pierce me, i looked at the preserved pink eyes.

—Mixed people doesn’t live long……

Suddenly Hardel words ran through my head. I think the eyes were belong to another mixed people from Castiello before.

‘That was a subject for an experiment.’

That’s right.

So that’s why Dad called the wizards are a bastard.

Despite this situation, i was surprised to find myself calmly convinced. Yes, i should stay calm in this situation.

I tried to figure it out the surroundings. Isn’t there a door to going out somewhere? Where is it?

At that time a child leaning his head in the corner of the room and caught my eyes.

Surely.

Surely.

No, no way. It’s because he was Lefton disciple. So that’s thirteen.

Even though i already knew it but i felt a sudden betrayal in my heart. I think maybe he was involved to kidnapping me here.

Dad said it was okay, is there problem with the feather that i received from him?

So maybe that’s why i’m here.

Suspicions sprang up like a water vapor.

“Thirteen.”

I called thirteen and i was short of breath. Thirteen jumped up and looked up.

Ah.

He had a bruises around his eyes, and around his mouth. That was a new wound that i had never seen before.

“Do you remember? Amazing. I actually thought that you already forgot him.”

Lefton was surprised and looked back.

“What are you going to do with me?”

I took my eyes off from thirteen and said with a deep voice. Lefton listened to what i say, and he asked me.

“Are the lady wondering how i bought you here?”

I was silent and stared at him. But still, i think there is no one who will feel  threatened by my staring.

“It’s with Lady hair.”

Lefton said that in a low voice like he was whispered. Hair? My hair?

“The easiest part of your body to get is your hair. Of course i was struggle to get it—but it was worth it. After that, the last things i should do is checking if it’s really your hair.”

Oh, it was the day when i was invited by the Empress, he didn’t come just to greeted me. But he come to check if the hairs fits with my hair.

‘So, it’s not thirteen.’

Strangely i was relieved.

Lefton eyed flashed. He looks so passionate—he speak fast in a low tone like a crazy person.

“Do you know how difficult is to bought all of your body here? If it wasn’t me, you may have come here with one part of your body, like just your head with your hair. Fortunately, i’m a genius wizard.”

Not at all, it’s not something that you should feels fortunate about.

Lefton come to me, he grabbed my arm again and tried to make me sit on a high chair made from a black iron.

“Let me go!”

Thirteen rushed run to Lefton.

“S, Stop it please. Master.”

Then Lefton hit thirteen face with his fits. With a loud sound, thirteen rolled on the ground like a dry leaf.

“Thirteen!”

I was startled. Lefton forced me to sat into a chair and fastened my wrists and armrests. I tried to reach him and kick him out but i can’t reach him.

Why my legs is so short?

Thinking meaningless, i glance at thirteen. He was frozen and get stuck on the floor.

I was worried that he was bumped his head hard.

“Lady, you don’t have to be so scared.”

Lefton said in a gentle voice. The gentle tone seemed to chill my whole body.

So creepy.

“I found this record five years ago.”

Lefton took out a book from a bookshelf.

‘The room was covered with a bookshelf. There’s no exit. Where is the exit? If i push the bookshelf, is there a secret door?’

There is only a magic light on the ceiling, and i can’t find the window everywhere. The air is felt heavy, isn’t it underground?

“It’s a record about experimenting with a mixed. It’s quite inspiring performance but i can’t see any results. And i found the book here. In this old experiment place.”

Lefton took the chair and sat in front of me.

“I did some experiments with the remaining materials, and only thirteen who survived. I can managed to have magic as much as i wanted, but still it’s not enough for the demons.”

“Do you want to be a demon?”

“No way. I’m not trying to be a monster.”

Lefton shook his head.

“Red eyes are a symbol of the demons. Castiello power is passed down only to one person. But if you mixed…..there are a lot possibilities. I want to find that power from you Lady and use the power as much as i want—“

Lefton eyes secrete too much water. So it’s like that.

“You can build an invincible army. You can easily become a master. Isn’t it great? It’s possible for you. Unlimited possibilities!”

He spit and vomited. The saliva hanging from the corners of his mouth looked so dirty.

“So, all i can do is to make something from the remains ingredients.”

Lefton face was become hard.

“Development come with sacrifice. Think of it Lady, because of your sacrifice the empire will develop some expense.”

I really hate it.

How can an empire experience some development just because of me?

“You just want to satisfy your greed.”

I said that and Lefton replied with a seriously “Maybe that’s right.” And nodded. It was like a generous posture in front of a prey that was caught away.

‘Dad will come to pick me up.’

Dad and Carl, Emel—the face of the three of them floated in my mind. And Annie, Jane, Stephanie, Sir Aster, Roy, Ellen, Jean—

Everyone will be looking for me.

Like Emel said.

Just try to be alive.

So my final priority is to survive. Then what should i do is don’t rebel as much as possible.

Lefton got up from his chair and picked up the tube glass on his desk. There was a muddy pupil inside.

“The only sample that left is this. And i’m going to put it on the black market.”

Lefton laughed.

“With this, wouldn’t everyone would think that you were already dead?”

“……………”

I  shut my lips.

“The moment i submit this experiments, it would the same as i announced that Lady was already die. If everyone think you die, then they will loose the tracking.”

It can’t be.

Castiello, and what about the wolf knights?

But, i’m so worried.

They won’t find me, but the effort to finding a living person and finding a dead person will be completely different.

They may be already late to find me. If it’s too late—

I stared at the floating eyes and closed my eyes.

No, no. Don’t think like that. They definitely would find me in time.

They must.

+++

There was no window, so it was pointless to counting the day and night.

I wasn’t sure whether i was get the meals properly. Because sometimes a weird potions come out instead.

When i had to drink the potion it was made me so sick that i rolled down on the ground. It hurts so much but i can’t scream, and then i found myself hard to breathe. When i refuse to drink the potion, in the end he will forced my mouth to open and took the potion.

He cut my hair, draw my blood, cut my nails until my nails was can’t be cut anymore. The intensity of the pain i felt grew day by day, and i worried about how long i could last.

‘How long it’s been?”

With my back lean back in the corner of the room, i exhaled.

‘Cold.’

When i thought the floor was cold the laughter came out.

‘I’ve been living this way before.’

The cold life had continued. It’s just been a while since i’ve came to the Duke mansion……..

I wrapped a thin blanket around my body as tight as possible.

‘It’s not cold.’

I closed my eyes.

‘It’s doesn’t hurt.’

It’s not cold. It’s doesn’t hurt.

As i continued to think of it, i tried to separate my body and mind somehow.

This is what i’ve been doing these days.

‘In the memory of Seo Yeong there was something like this on the TV program.’

A story about how to separated the body and the mind.

Even if the body suffers, they can see their body through the eyes from the third parties and escape from the pain. I don’t know if it’s real or not, but recent conditions is to much for me.

—Just think about surviving.

Emel said so. So i should alive, they will definitely came to find me.

But when will it be?

Then the door opened a little. I didn’t react and just stared at the air.

“La, Lady—“

Slowly i turning my head to the stuttering voice, thirteen stood there.

Now i was feeling odd about him. We are comrades because we are abused and being experimented by Lefton.

Lefton was not do the experiment just with me but he was experimenting with thirteen too.

“This, come here.”

Thirteen glanced back in anxiety. But i can’t budge from my place. No, as a matter of fact all my reaction were dull. There was a gap in everything because i was trying hard to not feel the pain in my body so i tried to separated my mind with it.

Thirteen came inside and pulled my hand when i was not moving. My body didn’t rebel and was dragged by him.

“Ru, run away. Hu, hurry.”

I’m out of the jail and there was nobody in the lab. I looked at thirteen hands that held me. The back of his hands was bleeding, again full of scabs.

‘Let’s run away together.’

I want to say that but it didn’t came out.

“He, he, coming tomorrow, hu, hu, hurry up.”

His stuttering become worse. He left me up and quickly approached the bookshelf and manipulated something.

Urung—

With a loud noise, the bookshelf popped and turned in a half and there was a passage. A black passage was opening the way. And the cold air came in.

“Hu, hu, hurry.”

I’m not moving and stuck, then thirteen pushed my back like he was already frustrating. My body moved one or two steps forward.

‘Keep walking!’

I desperately ordered my body. The body started to walked forward little by little.

But why thirteen don’t going together? If Lefton find that you help me escaped, you’ll be tortured to death.

I stopped. I turned around and moved my mouth and tongue desperately.

“To, together—“

Thirteen eyes wide open at my words. He closed his eyes, swung his head and pushed my back again.

“Uh, please go quickly.”

My body started to walking again. No, i can’t just walk. I should run. Please move your body.

I’m trying to to feel after i have tried not to feel, i heard a foot steps from the other side of the aisle.

I was suddenly choked. My heart began to beast fast.

My whole body was trembled.

Thirteen was also surprise, it seemed he was grab me back and pull me in.

“Why, why—“

Why are you coming already? Well, is the schedule changed?

Thirteen quickly drawn me back and closed the road bookshelf. As the prison door closed, i could hear the door was opening with a low sound.

“I left my cane.”

Lefton said cheerfully. It’s amazing how you can be so casual in front of two people that you had been tortured.

Is he a psychopath?

“He, he, here—“

Thirteen give the cane. Lefton “Then.” And went out again. After he went out, thirteen was in silent.

My ears also stood still and concentrated on something.

But because the bookshelf is thick, so i couldn’t hear anything.

How long has it been?

Thirteen was going out of the prison again to see if it was already safe or not and turned the bookshelf.

“This, i’ll take you to the entrance.”

Seeing my body moving poorly, thirteen pulled my hand.

There was no light in the black passage. I was worried that the cold air flowed heavily from the wall and my toes were frozen and falling.

Then the pot was lit and the bright light turned on.

“This, this, this.”

Lefton stood with a glowing magic wand, revealing it and laughed.

“You did something like this, you’ve been doing something cute.”

Lefton points thirteen with a cane, thirteen fell as if he was hit by a large weight.

‘Thirteen!’

I screamed but my scream never came out from my mouth.

Lefton pulled my nape. Drag me in back, and i couldn’t take my eyes to thirteen that fell on the floor.

Isn’t he dead?

Please.

Please say it’s not.

I was relieved to see him wobbles at this time. You are still alive.

But is he injured? Shouldn’t he see a doctor right away?

Lefton dragged me to the lab and tied me to a chair.

“Castiello is an amazing.”

As he waited for my reaction, he stopped talking and stared at me.

I’ll separated my body and mind.

That’s right.

I don’t feel anything.

I don’t feel anything.

I don’t feel anything.

It’s doesn’t hurt.

It’s doesn’t hurt.

Don’t cry.

Don’t cry.

Don’t show him that you are terrified.

I desperately swallowed it up like a spell in my heart. From now on he tried to think how he would retaliate against me.

Slam—

My throat shook with a heavy sound. My vision turned side and side.

“If you don’t respond like this, how can i know?”

I feel blood in my mouth.

Slam—

My vision went back to the other side. But surprisingly, there was almost no feeling. The limbs were just limp like a dolls. As he angry because i was not responsive, he struck my cheek several times with more power.

But even he tried more and more my feeling seemed to disappear even more.

I thought of the constellation tree i saw in the white hall. Shiny and pretty.

There was so many stars in the sky. The bonfire lights were also warm and soft.

My birthday party.

I remembered that everyone give me a stack of gifts. Like a beautiful pieces in a kaleidoscope, those memories passed before my eyes.

“……….Did not.”

Slowly i can heard Lefton words. My ear buzzed.

“The Castiello going to be lost track from the Pagoda, they  already scattering dozens of blood to find you in the streets now.”

Lefton was pulling the tongs out of the toolbox.

“Isn’t it really terrible?”

No, you are the one who terrible.

My body won’t move, my vision was locked at the toolbox. I can’t see him moving.

He was already did some experiment with me, but some have not been tasted yet.

Lefton grab my finger and said.

“Everybody will praise me when the result comes out. And i will praise you. My name will remain forever as the great wizard.

Lefton said low.

“What will be left of you, maybe just a few of your nails.”

+++

I didn’t feel any pain.

But, my body couldn’t move at all.

As i went back and forth between dreams and reality, i was getting into my dreams.

‘Or is this the precursor of multiple personalities? That doesn’t work. I hope everyone will come to rescue me before that happen.’

I thought so, the door opened. Lefton came in and pulled my arm. My body was drawn to him like a dumb doll.

Poor for my body. You’ll be beaten today.

Lefton looked nervous now. His eyes were red, he didn’t shave his beard, so he looked like an alcoholic homeless.

“Why, no way!”

He hysterically yelled. In one corner thirteen was tied up and he was more messed up than me.

Poor thirteen.

Since the day he tried to help me to escape, the injured was left untreated and he became Lefton sandbag.

I hope he wouldn’t die like that. I was always worried about it.

“If the demons blood is mixed with humans, it have to exert the infinite power, but why.”

He growled and looked at me, my body was just standing like a doll.

Slam!

When he hits my cheeks hard, my body and gaze rolled together. But there’s no pain. I can’t feel it.

“Damn!”

He grabbed my hair and started dragging me on. He throw my body up on the iron table.

Would you treat my body a bit gentle?

That’s no way.

In my mind, i would go crazy if i did speak this situation. No, i may be crazy already. But fortunately I can’t feel what my body feels.

Lefton memorized something. Then something exhilarating came into my body.

My limbs pounded and pounded at the iron table. My whole body is shaken, so the view is shaken.

It doesn’t hurt.

It doesn’t hurt.

It doesn’t hurt.

I can’t feel anything.

“Ugh, ugh, ugh—“

The sound of chocking sounded and after that everything become so quite.

Would i dying like this?

I can’t die.

I promised. To survive. So i can’t die like this.

The next moment the bright light shine again. My body was coughing violently.

Yes, i’m not dead yet. Well done.

My body is strong.

Maybe because i’m Castiello.

The tingling feeling still remained throughout the body. No, i won’t feel anything. Lefton lifted my body and sat in an iron chair. My body dropped as i sat on an iron chair.

He said back and forth nervously.

“How come? The experiment was perfect. Demon blood flows through the Castiello family, if i can purify the human blood in the mixed blood…….”

That’s the reason why you drew my blood.

Lefton smashed his head. What he was muttered was just a mad medley.

“Damn!”

He swearer and began to kick thirteen in the corner.

No thirteen condition now is already so bad. I wish he couldn’t feel anything like me. You are not dead, are you?

Kicking off for a minute, he walked back towards me, squeaking.

“Then i’ll have to try something that i never had been tried before, Lady.”

He touched my arm.

“I think i should look at your bones and tissues.”

Uh, are you saying that you want to cut my arm?

He will cut my arms. I’m thinking about my body being cut off. But doesn’t it usually make you die?

Would he treating the wound while he cut it?

Lefton woke up with a crazy smile.

“I will stop for today. And do it tomorrow.”

He dragged my body back into a jail.

The door was closed and my body stood still in the dark.

Um, over there why don’t you go over and rest?

My body didn’t respond to my command for a long time, but moved slowly and sat down in the corner.

Now close your eyes. Close your eyes.

My eyelids closed slowly.

Let’s rest.

It’s no use thinking about tomorrow. Right?

Ugh, but still i’m nervous. My body has been trembling enough. Yes, yes.

Hold up a bit more.

Soon my dad and brother will come to rescue. Emel will come too.

That’s right.

By the way—

When they are will coming?

A small question arose. Even blame seemed to arise.

Why can’t they find me quickly?

No, everybody will do their best. Suddenly i remember the pink eyes i saw before. After all , maybe they couldn’t find me. So……..

If they can’t find me soon.

At the moment fear came in and i closed my eyes.

I woke up from the feeling of hunger in my body.

If you starve for a long time, it will hurts your stomach like it’s being bitten.

‘It doesn’t hurt.”

But if Annie see me like this, she seemed would have a sigh. Because in the meantime i had lost all my fat.

‘No, it won’t be lost that much.’

Wouldn’t it will still stay somewhere?

Then the door opened.

Lefton took my body out as always. My body can’t move, so i just quietly followed him. He sat my body in an iron chair and began to firmly fix my arms.

“I wish i was a master.”

Lefton smiled and raised the file.

“It’s will to cut off your arm better even without a knife, unfortunately i’m not a master.”

He looked at my arms with a difficult look.

“It’s better to use a saw. I have to cut the bones too.”

He said that as he examined my arms, then thirteen said.

“Lo, Lord. Don’t do that.”

Though with a stuttering words, i can heard the desperate tone.

You’re alive.

Thank’s God.

“Lo, lord, will die. Oh, the lady.”

“Die? Castiello? She didn’t die even after i do this much. How many days is she starving? Look look.”

Lefton hit my head.

“She is strong.”

He said in a relaxed tone.

“It’s the same condition like in the record i found. She will not die just because i cut her limbs. Castiello is not a human. Of course. I’m must crazy if i do this to humans.”

Lefton murmured and grabbed my arm.

As he pushed the saw, my arms was torn and the blood burst out.

‘It doesn’t hurt,’

It doesn’t hurt. It doesn’t hurt.

But still scary.

I’m scared.

I tried to called the names of those who eagerly defended me. I don’t called the gods of this world because he wouldn’t know.

Dad, brother, Emel.

Then i saw something in my sight that was my tears. Then suddenly black fog pushing through the gap.

Black fog.

No.

Not fog—

‘Come on.’

At the moment, everything collapsed with a loud noise.

+++

2 thoughts on “Book 2, Chapter 2, Part 1 (I Am A Child Of This House)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started